Contact us at: Upsilon Theta Omega, P. O. Box 2392, Stillwater, OK 74076 or webmaster@uto95-1908.com

Disclaimer: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages. They are the sole property and responsibility of Upsilon Theta Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website. © 2012 Upsilon Theta Omega Chapter. All Rights Reserved.


Willa Ryan Combs had a vision of giving members who were in the Stillwater area an opportunity to reactivate or to continue their active membership in an area where members of Alpha Kappa Alpha could be of service.  She made calls to members and the member who she contacted made calls to members and on February 11, 1995 the first official organizational meeting was held at Drummond Hall on the campus of Oklahoma State University, on the Mezzanine.  There were nine members present at that meeting: Willa Ryan Combs, Laura Shinault, Katye Perry, Francine Botts, Gloria Allen, Beanna Powers, Ruby King, Sherri Harris and Sherilynn Marshall.

The purpose of the meeting on February 11, was to: a) review chartering procedures, b) select a name for the interest group, c) elect officers and committees for the group, d) establish meeting time and location, and d) local dues for the interest group; all of the goals were met at that meeting. 

The elected officers were:

President Laura Shinault

Vice President  Francene Botts

Financial Secretary/Treasurer Sheri Harris

Corresponding Secretary Gloria Allen

The first committees formed were:


The interest group had monthly meetings, carried out community service projects, some in collaboration with Project H.E.A.R.T., Inc. (Chandler, OK), Eldercare (Stillwater, OK), Oklahoma Historical Society (Oklahoma City, OK), Langston University (Langston, OK), Westhaven Nursing Home (Stillwater, OK), and Oklahoma Department of Libraries.  The Pearls of Distinction met at regular intervals with the Mid-Western Regional Director, Alberta Jones to receive support for the initiative toward their objective. 

On June 9, 1995 a letter was sent to  Alberta Jones, 24th Mid-Western Regional Director detailing that the requirements for the interest group had been met, along with a list of who had complied with all membership requirements.  The names of that were submitted on the initial list for charter were:  Gloria Allen, Agatha Anderson, DaChisa Anderson, Francene Botts, Juanita Cobb, Willa Combs, Betty Gaffney, Ruby King, Virginia Lee, Sherriyne Marshall, Katye Perry, Beanna Powers, Lisa Rogers, Laura Shinault, and Shanae Stoner.  In October 1995, two additional names were added to the interest group, Claire Echols, and another member name not listed.

These ladies concluded the membership in the interest group of

Pearls of Distinction

The Pearls of Distinction received approval for charter and were chartered on December 2, 1995, 2:30 p.m., as Upsilon Theta Omega Chapter.  The chartering ceremony was held on the campus of the University of Central Oklahoma in the Will Rogers Room of the Nigh University Center.

The officers of Upsilon Theta Omega Chapter remained the same, as the interest group, for the first year. 


The Presidents of Upsilon Theta Omega Chapter are as follows:

Laura Shinault  1995 – August 1998

Claire Echols  August 1998 – 2002

 Millicent Nelson 2002 – 2003

Claire Echols  2003 – 2004

Doris Jones 2004 – 2008

Jewel Dallas-Brunner 2009 - 2010

Gwendolyn Peoples 2011 - 2012

Jacqueline Bass 2013 - 2014

Gail Anderson 2015 - Present

Upsilon Theta Omega has doubled it’s membership in the last twenty years and continues to adhere to the national programs and goals set by the administration of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Click here to learn more about our current officers.


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

P. O. Box 2392, Stillwater, OK 74076